I went to my granny’s yesterday to hang out w/ her and my mom. As I was leaving, my Uncle Joel slipped me some money, which I thought was sweet. I definitely could use it now.

I got home right at 7:00 and ate dinner. At 8:30 we met up w/ our friends Utz and Aaron at Chuck’s (it’s a nice local restaurant that opened a few months back) to hang out and listen to the band that plays there. Around 10:30, we decided we were about ready to leave and I reached into my purse to grab my wallet to pay my bill and my wallet wasn’t there. I told the guys that I didn’t have my wallet, and immediately I went out to my car to check to see if maybe it had fallen out of my purse in the car. With my keychain flashlight in hand, I scanned the entire car and didn’t find it. I went back in to tell them no dice, and then talked to a man that was sitting next to us if he happened to have seen anything and he said some guy found an ID on the floor (my student ID) and asked him if he knew where it went and then just put it in my purse. Odd.

Scott then suggested we go home and make sure that I didn’t leave it at home, but Utz suggested we tell the manager first so that they could be on the lookout while we went home to look around. I approached the manager and told him that my wallet was missing and that we were going to go home to look but wanted them to be aware. He said, “Heather? Do you work at the University and have a 348-something number?” I said, “Yeah, that’s me.”

This is where it goes downhill.

He said, “I’ll send the GM to get your wallet. It’s in our office. Some guy turned it in saying that he’d seen it stuffed in the paper towel dispenser in the men’s restroom. The ID and credit cards are still in there, but if you happened to have any cash in there, it’s gone.” I just started crying and said, “Yeah, I had money. $______. And that bastard stole it. Fuck. Why do people have to be that way?!” I was really angry, probably moreso than I was upset.

What gets me is that my purse was never unattended the whole time. The four of us never got up and left for any reason and it was right next to me or Scott the entire night. Whoever did this (may he rot in Hell) knew what he was doing. Could be a she, but I doubt it.

He/she left my credit cards and my checks, although they took them out first and then decided against it, because they were stuffed in another part of the wallet. As far as the paper towel dispenser thing, I’m perplexed as to why they didn’t trash it or just take it. Scott’s theory is that they wanted to make sure that the wallet was returned once they got what they wanted. Whatever helps them sleep better at night. I, for one, barely slept last night. I was too upset.

Moral of the story: if you go to Chuck’s, watch your back. I’ve been to bars/restaurants in many places (New York, Chicago, Atlanta, New Orleans, etc.) and NEVER had this happen. Somebody around here obviously gets off on stealing people’s shit, and I find that disgusting. If I felt that the person really needed the money for something like feeding his children or medicine, I could let it go, but somehow I have a feeling that my money ended up in the hands of either the bartender or whatever local dealer has what he wanted.

I’m just sick and pissed off. I feel violated.

