Let me be an attention ho for a moment….I’ve been working out regularly for nearly a month now and I’m starting to see some results. I’m up to about 45-50 minutes of cardio per session and I’m doing strength exercises about 2 or 3 days a week (weights or yoga). Places that were flabby in late December are much less so, although I have a ways to go, trust me. I’ve been doing kickboxing, bellydancing, yoga, cardio (mostly elliptical trainer) and weights (upper body and back). If I keep this up for a few more months I am going to be in the best shape I’ve been in in years.

I was doing some errands Saturday morning and the usual coalition of right-wing nutcases were protesting at the local abortion clinic. It always provokes a good deal of eyerolling and disgust from me, but I really started thinking about it this past weekend. I’m really angry at these people. Not because they hold a viewpoint drastically different from mine, but because they don’t think about what their views really mean. Rather than spend hours on a Saturday morning holding up signs and harrassing people, why don’t they go and do things that would make abortion unnecessary in the first place? Why don’t they help poor people or go volunteer at a home for abused/neglected/abandoned children? Why don’t they invest their time and money in programs that teach young people about how to prevent STDs and pregnancy? Or how about teaching young people that there are other ways to get love and attention besides sex? For that matter, I wonder why they don’t do more to support public health and education. If they want to protest and get angry at something, they should get angry at the social conditions that drive people to obtain abortions in the first place. Better yet, why don’t they mind their own business? There’s a severe shortage of MYOB in these times.

My boss is gone today, so I have 8 hours of uninterrupted time to box up my stuff for next week’s move. Should be interesting. I’ve got about 75% of my stuff packed, which is more than I can say for most people around here (laaaaazy). I have class at 3, which I am dreading since annoying-dude-in-my-program is in that class. I’ve never met a more idiotic, socially inept and talkative person in my life. Even Dr. Thoma doesn’t seem to like him and that’s saying something. It is kind of funny when the rest of us look at each other and roll our eyes when he goes on one of his little diatribes, which always include the phrase “and what have you” at least 3 times. Grrrr….

