I have a long, long way to go. Back in 2004, I was going to the gym quite regularly and pushing myself pretty hard. I even had somewhat of a personal trainer. I wasn’t the skinniest I’ve ever been, but I sure as hell was strong. Now, not so much. I used to be able to do 50 lbs on this one particular machine (at my peak). Yesterday, 25 lbs was challenging me. I physically couldn’t do 35. Forget 50. I know that I can work back up to that and that I’ll enjoy the results. But it won’t be easy, and as my mom used to say, “Rome weren’t built in no day.”Ā  I did 30 minutes on the elliptical last night after work and then 30 minutes of upper body work and stretches. I figure doing that 4 or 5 times a week should show a least minimal results in 3 weeks. Really noticeable ones after about 6-8 weeks. By the end of March, I should be very close to my goal, and then I’ll just be consistent in maintaining what I have. In a nutshell, here’s what I want to accomplish:

  1. Be able to do 1 full hour on the elliptical machine
  2. Make my arms look way more toned (I want some definition, y’all.)
  3. Get rid of love handles (shudder…)
  4. Be able to lift 55 on the machine I mentioned earlier.
  5. Be able to bicep curl 25 lbs

It doesn’t sound like much, but I know it will be a lot of work for me. I really let myself get out of shape over the past few months w/ my hectic schedule, and I can’t treat myself that way.

Today wasn’t a gym day, but we steam cleaned the carpets and the furniture, and so I think that’s plenty of exercise for me!

