This has been bothering me for some time, so I’ll lay out the situation and then I want/need/desire y’alls’ advice!

So a few weeks ago, there was a meeting at work. As I’m the secretary for this particular group, I was around to take notes and kind of keep things going. I got to where the meeting was to be held and my boss (and head of the group) said, “Heather, why don’t you go and get us some coffee?”

WTF?

He hands me a $5, which at Starbucks barely gets you 1 coffee, much less 5, and my other boss (who I really like) hands me another $5 “just in case.” He knew. So I walk over to Bidgood, fuming and seething the whole way there and back. The coffees, by the way, came to $8 and change. So I get back over there and distribute the coffees and the meeting commences. Ok.

Here’s what gets me: I can’t believe that I was asked to go get coffee like some 1950s, Pleasantville-esque, what-our-moms-fought-against stereotype. Can’t they go get their OWN damn coffee? Totally, utterly inappropriate. Maybe 20 years ago, it was ok, but nowadays you’re treading on dangerous ground if you do something like that. Hello, sexual harrassment suit…

It also wasn’t as if it was a group thing. It was my higher-up boss. Most of them had just come from home anyways (and it was like 10:30 in the morning, so it wasn’t as if they didn’t have time to get coffee earlier).

We have a meeting in a little less than half an hour and I am sick with worry. I don’t know what the hell I’m going to do if I get asked to do the same again. It creates a really unpleasant environment for me and makes me dislike (part) of my job. Any advice?

