So today I went over to meet the people I’ll be working with and to see my office. My office is a huge freaking mess. There’s just shit lying around everywhere, some extra tables crammed in there and junk all in the shelves and the closet. I anticipate having to do a lot of work on that. I have two computers, one that’s nice, new with a flat panel screen and another one that should be donated to a historical society. Or the dump. Whatever. The printer that goes with the new PC is sweet. It’s the printer of my fantasies, really. Maybe that’s going a bit far. The other printer is a huge piece of shit that can only be topped by the printer in my GRA office (affectionately known as “Satan’s Printer”). Apparently some of the ladies in the neighboring offices want me to have a “painting party” because they enjoy painting and think that my office needs color. They are totally right, but I’m not sure if I want to invest the time/money when I’ll be moving out of that office at the end of the year. Maybe I’ll feel differently when I’m in there 8 hours a day. The upside is that the office is rather large and I have a couple of windows, so it’s not some hellacious claustrophobic nightmare. There’s also some crazy shit going on with the phone lines, so I’m not entirely sure what my number will be and what humbers I’ll be answering. I may end up setting up three separate voicemail boxes. That ought to be fun. The people I met today are all very nice and insisted that if I need any sort of help that I ask them. I think I’m going to be very, very busy for a couple months.

In other titillating news, I’m broke. I am going to go through my CDs and DVDs and see what I can sell. If my iron and B12 weren’t so low I would donate blood or plasma. I doubt I could just go donate my eggs or something, and I’m not sure why anyone would want mine. I reviewed all my bank charges and there was not a thing in there that made me cringe in regret. It’s one thing to overspend your means, but I’m just trying to meet my needs without going broke. Scott has offered to help me out, but I don’t want to take him up on it. Even if I had just $50 I would be set for the rest of the month. As it is, I have about $10 to make it until the 28th, and I still need to buy ingredients for pasta salad for Sunday and buy gas so that I can actually make it to my granny’s. I had hoped to go to the store and buy some frozen dinners to take to work, since I’ll be working through lunch until the middle of May, but that just isn’t going to happen.

