So over spring break my boss sent out an e-mail to everyone requesting their availability for summer and fall, and she wants to have all the info by April 3. This means I have to tell her this week that I am not coming back. As of now I still don’t have a job lined up and I am so worried. However, I feel like I can’t justify staying there because I’m unhappy and it creates a nasty situation tax-wise (my refund went from around $500 to less than $100, if you’ll recall). I’m not sure how to word my e-mail to her, though. Should I mention that working for her screws me over financially? Should I mention that I am unhappy? Or should I just say something like “I feel like I need more time to devote to academics, so I will not be coming back”? Another issue is, how I back out of summer, since I’m not going to be in school. Maybe I could say I’m taking a few classes or something. I hate to lie, but she is really nosy and if she finds out anything about you (i.e., you dropped a class) she’ll start pushing you to take over a class that meets at that time. The problem is that she employs so many young people (some as young as high school age)and she doesn’t relate very well to people like me who are a little older and have a better sense of responsibility. I’m only one of about 4 people in the company who actually have a degree. All the rest are college-age and younger.

So, if anyone has any suggestions as to how I should handle this, I’d love to hear them. I’m so at a loss, but I have to act quickly.

ETA: Here’s what I just sent her:

{Boss}-
Due to personal reasons, I will not be returning for the fall. I also do not plan to teach this summer. Teaching at {company} has been a very educational experience for me, but I feel like I need to pursue other interests. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, do not hesitate to call.
Thanks,

{me}

(I hope it gets the job done!)

