I got an email from a student loan consolidation company, so I decided to go ahead and lock in a good rate before they change. I had no freaking idea that I owe nearly 30 grand. Awful, awful, awful. At this point I don’t see how I can possibly justify staying in the master’s program here taking out loans like crazy when I could just hold off and get into a good Ph.D. program that will *pay* me to go to school. I am seriously considering dropping out of school. I do realize that this means I’ll have to start paying back loans, but at this rate, if I take out any more loans I’ll be paying pretty close to (if not more than) $400/month. Yikes. I realize student loan debt is ok credit-wise, but g*ddamn that’s a lot of money. With interest and everything I will be paying back $40,000. That’s a nice car. That’s a down payment on a house. That’s a lot of things. I can’t see or justify taking out yet more loans.

Advice?

